Anyone Use C++?

deadfingersdeadfingers Senior MemberThe Royal RAM
Im deciding to quit learning PHP and start C++ seeing as how im going into game design, im just learning the basics right now like how to input stuff and return stuff and arrays and strings and watnot, so does anyone else know or learning C++ right now? wats the best compiler? im using Dev-C++5 right now but thinking of getting Borland. anyways let me know.
sig.jpg

Comments

• martian2k4martian2k4 Llama Hunter Moderator
    borland is goodi have it but never use it. Its a good program though :D
    Free MySpace Layouts- Coming soon
    Photoshop Tutorials- Coming soon
    Premium PHP Scripts- Coming soon

Haha i should really do some work so i can remove all the coming soon's
  • dabossdaboss WP V.I.P. ''The Boss'' Administrator
    i know c++ very well - it used to be my bread and butter.

firstly, i'd like to say that c++ and php are totally different - so i don't think you can use c++ to replace php - one is a fat client development language and the other a server-side scripting language. bottom line is that you shouldn't quit php if you think you can replace it with c++.

about compilers - if you're doing coding in a text editor and then need to compile it for a uniz/linux machin, i'd suggest the gnu compiler. if you're writing windows programs (which you should if you're writing gaming stuff), then you should get a microsoft c++ compiler (cum editor, linker, etc.) forget about borland...
    daboss wrote:
    you shouldn't quit php if you think you can replace it with c++.

I think Dead fingers isn't trying to replace PHP with C++ i think he just wants to learn it for game design andhe doesn't want to atempt to learn two languages at once :D

lmao :D

• deadfingersdeadfingers Senior Member The Royal RAM