Searching With Ajax

phpnutphpnut Junior MemberShared Hoster
I'm trying to use ajax to search for entries in a database with a certain tag using a php processing page. I would like to have a select drop down box that gives a list of options and when selected, and the submit button is clicked, the tag is sent using GET to a php page which searches the database. The returned data is then sent back to the page and displayed in a <div>. I know this is pretty simple, but I'm a newbie at ajax (and javascript) and have had failed attempts at this numerous times. Thanks a lot for any help!
My ongoing projects...
www.naturesmagazine.com
www.energyreform.org *new domain*
www.photographyavenue.com
----
You may also remember me as imnewtophp...

Comments

• WatchOutWatchOut Advanced User VPS - Virtual Prince of the Server
    Sorry phpnut, nothing i can help you with :(
    Computer Forumz

www.computerforumz.com
  • NuvoNuvo Forum Leader VPS - Virtual Prince of the Server
    Here's a bit of code I've just ripped from something I made.
    It uses the prototype JS library and makes a form submit via AJAX rather than by normal methods, though it will fall back on a standard method should the user not have JavaScript enabled:
    [html]
    <form action="/dynamic_search" method="post" onsubmit="new Ajax.Updater('searchresult', '/dynamic_search', {asynchronous:true, evalScripts:true, parameters:Form.serialize(this)}); return false;">
    <input id="searchkey" name="searchkey" type="text" />
    <input name="commit" type="submit" value="Search" />
    </form>
    [/html]
    That was built by Rails using Rails code rather than JavaScript, but I'll go over it anyway as it shouldn't be too hard to read...
    <form action="/dynamic_search" method="post"

Standard form element in HTML that will go to "dynamic_search" or wherever you point it if JS is turned off or not supported.