database for an online game..

kailakaila BeginnerLink Clerk
I'm rather new at this MySQL stuff.. but what I am doing is making an online game.

I have a "management" database, that I really only want to use for the users. In that db, I have four tables. They are users, active_users, active_guests, and banned_users.

In the users table, it logs all of the registration information, such as username, email address, and the sort. In my current login system, I do not have a static id for each user. One of my questions is, will this pose a problem in the long run? The login system I used is the one at Evolt.org with the admin features and such.

In this game, I need to store in a database the horses and other animals, buildings, etc. owned by this user. Is there anyway possible that I can create, say, another database named animals, and in that db include tables for horses, cattle, dogs, and cats? I was thinking that you would have to do this by including one of the same fields in both db's/table(s) such as username, and link them in some way using PHP.

I'm not sure, but my reasoning behind this is that a mysql table can get overloaded and become slow or run out of space? I want to prevent this from happening, if it's even possible. Not to mention this way would keep things alot neater for me and the rest of the staff.

I know this will take alot of work, and it needs alot of complicated PHP, and all that stuff. Let me at least try though.

Thanks =)
Kaila

Comments

• danielneridanielneri WP V.I.P. VPS - Virtual Prince of the Server
    ok so what i have done in similar circumstances is this.

to find out what 'animals' belong to a user, the users database must have a static identification number. i guess you can call that field id.

once thats done you can add a field to your 'animals' table thats called 'user_id' or something like that, though it can't just be id because that would be for identifying the individual animals.