IMPORTANT Lessons I've Learned About Hosting

I'm still new at this, but I've learned these important things about hosting from this forum:

1) Always have separate providers for your webhosting and domain registration. A separate provider for email is a great idea too.

2) Get the cheapest domain registration possible and then move it to Cloudflare in 90 days. Cloudflare is also an ethical host; every account is secure and anonymous by default, there's no useless domain locking tools, no "upgrades" that aren't really upgrades, no strange billing practices, and they don't try to lock you out of a move. I respect that they don't treat the user like a wallet full of money to be taken advantage of.

3) Just avoid GoDaddy and any EIG hosting companies (Bluehost, HostGator, Web.com)

4) Put a free Cloudflare edge cache on top of your hosting. You probably want Cloudflare edge caching, it also gives you one panel to manage both domain and edge cache.

5) Cloudflare is the cheapest registry as they charge only at cost with no markup.

DeluxeNames

Comments

• GladGlad Link Clerk

I thank you for sharing your knowledge about hosting. I don't really know much about hosting but trying to learn one or two things about it. I actually thought Bluehost are one of the best hosting companies, thanks for the warning. I would surely make use of your advice when it comes to hosting a site.

Thanked by [1] : MonstaHost
  • dkamaudkamau Link Clerk

I see you have learnt a lot. Myself also, I have learnt something and also wish everyone without such knowledge to know to.

• Thanks for pointing out the bit about avoiding GoDaddy. Going by experience I'd very much advise the same too.

Thanked by [2] : MonstaHost DeluxeNames
  • I am glad that you mentioned Cloudfare. I am in love with their service majorly because of how affordable they are :)

• MonstaHostMonstaHost NAT Warrior

@George said: